East of England E-mail
Bedfordshire Hertfordshire Northamptonshire
Cambridgeshire Lincolnshire Suffolk
Essex   Norfolk


website: www.bedfordshire.gov.uk

The civic amenity sites listed below have chemical safes where residents can place pesticide waste. Contact the site operator upon arrival at the site.  

  1. Bedford Household Waste Recycling Centre, Barkers Lane, Bedford

  2. Biggleswade Household Waste Recycling Centre, Bells Brook, Biggleswade

  3. Leighton Buzzard Household Waste Recycling Centre, Shenley Hill Road, Heath and Reach, Leighton Buzzard

  4. Dunstable Household Waste Recycling Centre, French's Avenue, Dunstable


The civic amenity sites listed below have chemical safes where residents can place pesticide waste. Contact the site operator upon arrival at the site.  

  1. Milton Household Waste Recycling Centre, Butt Lane, Milton, Cambridge, CB4 6DQ 

  2. Grunty Fen Recycling Centre, Pools Road, Grunty Fen, Witchford, Ely

  3. St. Neots Recycling Centre, Huntingdon Street, St. Neots, PE19 1BG  

  4.  Whittlesey Recycling Centre, New Road, Whittlesey, PE17 1SZ  

  5. Wisbech Recycling Centre, Boleness Road, Wisbech, PE13 2RB

  6. Buckden Recycling Centre, Brampton Road, Buckden, PE18 9UH 

  7. Alconbury Recycling Centre, Woodwalton Road, Alconbury Weston, PE28 4JH

  8. Bluntishan Recycling Centre, heath Road, Bluntishan, PE17 3LQ

  9. March Recycling Centre, Hundred Road, March, PE15 8QN

  10. Thriplow Recycling Centre, Gravel Pit Hill, Thriplow, SG8 7HZ

Further information at www.cambridgeshire.gov.uk/environment/waste/hazardous



None of Essex County Council’s Recycling Centres for Household Waste are licensed to accept pesticide waste. The council may be able to arrange a collection through a private contractor. The first 20kg collected free for residents. Call them to enquire on 0845 603 7625.


All of Hertfordshire County Council's household waste recycling centres (HWRC; listed below) can accept small quantities of pesticides from householders. The Council may be able to collect larger quantities. Call 08457 425000 for information before taking pesticides to a HWRC. 

  1. Royston Household Waste Recycling Centre, Beverley Close, off York Way, Royston SG8 5HF

  2. Letchworth Household Waste Recycling Centre, Blackhorse Road, Letchworth, SG6 1HB

  3. Buntingford Household Waste Recycling Centre, Aspenden Road, SG9 9PA

  4. Stevenage Household Waste Recycling Centre, Caxton Way, Stevenage, SG1 1XW

  5. Bishop's Stortford Household Waste Recycling Centre, Woodside Industrial Estate, off Dunmow Road (A1250), CM23 5RG

  6. Ware Household Waste Recycling Centre, Westmill Road (A602), Ware, SG12 0EL

  7. Hoddesden Household Waste Recycling Centre. Pindar Road Industrial Estate, off Essex Road, EN11 0BZ

  8. Turnford Household Waste Recycling Centre, Brookfield Farm, Fairways

  9. Cole Green Household Waste Recycling Centre, off the A414 between Hatfield and Hertford, SG14 2NL

  10. Potters Bar Household Waste Recycling Centre, Cranborne Road, EN6 3JE

  11. Harpenden Household Waste Recycling Centre, Dark Lane, off Grove Road, AL5 1AB

  12. St. Albans Household Waste Recycling Centre, 14 Ronsons Way, Sandridge, off St Albans Road, St Albans, AL1 4AP

  13. Hemel Hempstead Household Waste Recycling Centre, Eastman Way HP2 7BU

  14. Tring Household Waste Recycling Centre, Tringford Road, New Mill, HP23 4LH

  15. Berkamsted Household Waste Recycling Centre, Northbridge Road, HP4 1TL

  16. Waterdale Household Waste Recycling Centre, St. Albans Road, near Garston, WD25 0PR

  17. Watford Household Waste Recycling Centre, Wiggenhall Road, WD18 0FB

  18. Rickmansworth Household Waste Recycling Centre, Riverside Drive, WD3 1BN

  19. Elstree Household Waste Recycling Centre, Radnor Hall, Allum Lane, WD6 3LS

Directions to sites are available at www.wasteaware.org.uk/db/hwsmap.cfm


Lincolnshire County Council’s civic amenity sites are not licensed to accept hazardous waste. District and borough councils may be able to provide details of private contractors who will be able to be able to dispose of the waste. Call for further details

Boston Borough Council – 01205 314200

City of Lincoln Council – 01522 881188

West Lindsey District Council – 01427 615411

East Lindsey District Council – 01507 601111

North Kesteven District Council – 01529 414155

South Kesteven District Council – 01476 406080

South Holland District Council – 01775 761161



Norfolk County Council provides amnesties for hazardous household waste at a limited number of sites and for limited periods of time. However, they currently have no permanent facilities for disposal of pesticide waste. Some district councils may be able to arrange collections. Contact individual district councils for details :

1. Breckland District Council 01362 656870

2. Broadland Districk Council 01603 431133

3. Great Yarmouth Borough Council 01493 856100

4. Borough Council of King's Lynn and West Norfolk 01553 616200

5. North Norfolk Districk Council 01263 513811

6. Norwich City Council 01603 212212

7. South Norfolk Council 01508 533633


Pesticide waste can currently be taken to all ten Recycling Centres in Northamptonshire. The Council will soon be improving facilities for hazardous waste at some Centres. When this work has been completed residents will need to take pesticide waste to these designated sites. Contact the site operator upon arrival.

  1. Scaldwell Road, Brixworth, NN6 9RB

  2. Kettering Road, Weldon, NN17 3JG

  3. Browns Road, off Staverton Road, Daventry, NN11 4NS

  4. Lower Ecton Lane, Great Billing, Northampton, NN3 5HQ

  5. Northampton Road, east of sanders lodge on old A45 road, Rushden, NN10 6AL

  6. Cunliffe Drive, off Northfield Avenue, Kettering, NN16 8LD

  7. Walter Tull Way, Weedon Road, via sixfields leisure roundabout, Northampton, NN5 5QL

  8. Old Greens Norton Road, Towcester, NN12 8AW

  9. Paterson Road, on Finedon Road Ind. Estate, Wellingborough, NN8 4BZ

  10. Grendon Road, Wollaston, NN29 7PU

Further information is available at www.northamptonshire.gov.uk/Environment/Waste/recycling_centres.htm


www.suffolkrecycling.org.uk or http://www.suffolk.gov.uk/Environment/RubbishWasteAndRecycling/HouseholdWaste/Listing.htm

None of Suffolk County Council’s civic amenity sites have disposal facilities for pesticide waste. However, the council does offer a collection service. For advice phone them on (01473) 264790 or (01473) 264799, but to request a collection contact your district or borough council (as detailed below):

1. Mid Suffolk District Council/Babergh District Council 0845 606 6174 (free)

2. Forest Heath District Council (01638) 719207 (free)

3. Ipswich Borough Council (01473) 433090 (free)

4. Waveney District Council (01502)523116

5. Suffolk Coastal District Council (01394) 444000 (£30 charge)

6. St Edmundsbury Borough Council (01284) 757320 (£15-£30 charge depending on quantity)

sorry. Thanks, but this is a charity site and upgrading from 1.5 is not going to be straightforward when they have no web dev budget, have a heart!